Hypo-mating for Newbies (WALL OF TEXT)

Forum rules
Do not to post anything abusive, obscene, vulgar, slanderous, hateful, threatening, or sexually-orientated.
Do not post anything negative about any player.
No advertising other games.
The management reserves the right to delete or lock threads and messages at any time.
Read the complete SIM rules and legal information.
Gwen Morse
Grade 2 Winner

Hypo-mating for Newbies (WALL OF TEXT)

Post by Gwen Morse »

First off, I'm not an expert by any means - more experienced people who are masters of breeding please don't come after me with torches and pitchforks.

Hypos. Hypos are such a weird, confusing topic. They're a huge trap for new players (or longer-term players who don't understand them).

Hypos aren't actually information on how good a particular breeding will be. They're a rating to compare the "relative quality" of stallions and mares. What do I mean by the relative quality? The quality of a stallion (or mare) when compared to a different stallion (or mare).

To start with hypos, it helps to know who is the 'top'. I only know the top hypoing stallion for Turf divisions, but here they are: TS - Dirk Pitt, TM - Nightwatch, TR - Impacts.

After we know who the best hypoing stallion in the division is, we want a range from "top" to "bottom". Bottom is the lowest quality stallion you're still willing to use.

In the turf miler division (as examples), we have Nightwatch, Backstreet Boy, Fight the Good Fight, and Distant Galaxies.

Nightwatch is the "top hypoing" stallion in the division. No one hypos better than him and I don't think any stallion is equal to him right now.