Really Old SIM Question

Forum rules
Do not to post anything abusive, obscene, vulgar, slanderous, hateful, threatening, or sexually-orientated.
Do not post anything negative about any player.
No advertising other games.
The management reserves the right to delete or lock threads and messages at any time.
Read the complete SIM rules and legal information.
Keith Maidlow
Hall of Fame

Really Old SIM Question

Post by Keith Maidlow »

So we started talking about "He who shall not be named" here in the Forum which started me looking at old Forum posts. I started looking at my own posts from close to the beginning of my time here in the SIM and started to read one from 11 years ago called "What's a Horse Worth?" My question was how come many owners consistently put high prices on their horses and how many of those horses actually sell and how many are actually worth the price once all is said and done. I was a newbie at the time and my contention was that if "He who shall not be named" and I had twins on the sales page at the same time and mine was half the price of his, his would sell and mine would not. Funny comment from him was that he'd buy mine and sell it for twice the price.

An example of one of his horses that sold for $1.5 million in Yr 19 was Transonic and everyone came to the conclusion that the breeding and potential made the deal worthwhile. Bottom line the horse made only $136K in his career, only $50K for his new owner, was never put to stud duty and was given to AJ in Yr 22. I'm guessing there are more stories about horses that didn't make their perceived potential then those that exceeded purchase price value.

The general consensus back then and probably today is that value is in the eye of the purchaser.

I am going to keep looking at the past to see if there are any other things that peak my interest and share if you all think that blasts from the past are interesting for you too?
*Sugar Bottom Stable
Xander Zone
Hall of Fame