The Only Newbie Article You'll Ever Need

Advice and Other Goodies for Newbies
Forum rules
Do not to post anything abusive, obscene, vulgar, slanderous, hateful, threatening, or sexually-orientated.
Do not post anything negative about any player.
No advertising other games.
The management reserves the right to delete or lock threads and messages at any time.
Read the complete SIM rules and legal information.
Scott Eiland
Hall of Fame

The Only Newbie Article You'll Ever Need

Post by Scott Eiland »

(Hi everyone. I posted this on my website last year and realized how hard it is to find. Well, here it is. To Lauren, Eric, Em, and God, if you feel like this is worth pinning please do so. This is just one vet's opinion, but I think it can help people. Thanks.)

I started playing at SIMhorseracing.com knowing next to nothing about the mechanics of horse racing or how trainers make decisions. I was an empty book regarding surface preference, pedigree, and the different KINDS of races.’ I knew nothing. After playing for just four months, I won my first “Breeders’ Cup” trophy when my two year old purchase “Lucrezia Borgia” won the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies’ Turf. (That race has since been renamed for proprietary reasons.)

If you’ve gotten this far, you probably want to know where to begin. I’m assuming you’ve already consumed the overview and signed up. You have a few horses, one of which was a free horse ready to race who was “created” by the game. Obtaining quality horses is easy, however, so if your free one isn’t running well, do not despair. You can build a quality barn of good racehorses quickly by following a few easy steps.