Stable size for a newbie

Advice and Other Goodies for Newbies
Forum rules
Do not to post anything abusive, obscene, vulgar, slanderous, hateful, threatening, or sexually-orientated.
Do not post anything negative about any player.
No advertising other games.
The management reserves the right to delete or lock threads and messages at any time.
Read the complete SIM rules and legal information.
Mark Castles
Two Year Old

Stable size for a newbie

Post by Mark Castles »

Hi All newbie here and working through it finding my feet.
Thought I'd ask what size of stable would be a good amount to start for a new player?
Carole Hanson
Hall of Fame

Re: Stable size for a newbie

Post by Carole Hanson »

I personally think about 50-100 active racehorses would be the most manageable and profitable at the same time. But I have seen players before with thousands of horses who end up making lots of money quickly. The issue is, lots of them then find it hard to transition to smaller numbers, because it’s all just overwhelming and because you get afraid of losing money. And then what happens is they end up quitting which none of us want to see. So I would say try not to start too big.

Good luck!
Maisy Moo Stable
Sprinter

Post by Maisy Moo Stable »

I am only new myself ,there are about 35 races a week at trial park, so 70 would give you 2weeks worth with 1 in each race,140 would give you 2 in each race if you can find them.
3yr colts/filly are the ones to look for with low or no wins
Check the tracks upcoming races to see the horses you need,

Only my take on it.
Mark Castles
Two Year Old

Post by Mark Castles »

Thanks both for the reply :)
Meghan Kingsley
Sprinter

Post by Meghan Kingsley »