Breeding?

Advice and Other Goodies for Newbies
Forum rules
Do not to post anything abusive, obscene, vulgar, slanderous, hateful, threatening, or sexually-orientated.
Do not post anything negative about any player.
No advertising other games.
The management reserves the right to delete or lock threads and messages at any time.
Read the complete SIM rules and legal information.
Nancy Prather
Two Year Old

Post by Nancy Prather »

Hi my name is Rachel, I am new to this game and right now I am on my mom's name because I still can not post topics on here. I have a mare, her name is Stone Age Queens and I want to breed her to Fleet Afoot, U understand that it might be best to wait to breed her, but in the future I want to know if this is a smart cross, please let me know what you think and thank you very much for helping me out.
Leigh Ann Anderson
Hall of Fame

Post by Leigh Ann Anderson »

Rachel, while I'm not an expert, I wouldn't recommend this breeding. From your mare's pedigree, she should be sent to a dirt stallion (both her sire and dam were dirt horses). Fleet Afoot is a turf horse.

I'm not sure who would be a good match for your mare, but look at stallions who excelled on the dirt, or whose progeny have done well on dirt.

Good luck!
Windborn turf router $20000; Nite Skyturf router $18000; Black Tears turf router $5,000; Dream Goodnite turf router $5000; Accend turf router $5000; Independence Hall dirt miler $40000
Paul Heinrich
Hall of Fame

Post by Paul Heinrich »

Hi Rachel (and Rachel's mom!), welcome to the game. I wouldn't go with Fleet Afoot. Stone Age Queens looks mostly dirt to me - the FuPeg line has been almost exclusively dirt in the SIM, it appears. I don't know what your price range is, but I would aim for a dirt miler, maybe 7-9 furlongs. Some names I'd look at (for about Fleet Afoot's price) would be American Baby and Lokite Tragedy.
"They're not going to kick me out." - Tim Matthews
Nancy Prather
Two Year Old

Post by Nancy Prather »